‘The Haunting of Alma Fielding’ by Kate Summerscale

Hello and happy Bank Holiday weekend, readers!

I hope you are all finding plenty of reading time this long weekend. And here is a review of a pretty smashing non-fiction treat for you!

This is the true story of the haunting of Alma Fielding, told by Kate Summerscale as she rewrites the findings of a “ghost hunter” style investigator in the 1930s.

Given that I probably read about one non-fiction book a year, this one was a great choice for this year! Summerscale’s research into not only the investigation itself but also the increasingly turbulent context leading up to World War 2 was so thorough I feel like I could write my own book on it! (Don’t worry, though; I won’t.)

My only criticism of the retelling of this tale is that I felt it was quite stilted at times. I completely understand that Summerscale is telling a story that isn’t hers, but I would have loved a bit more personal insight or opinion; I think this would have made it flow more smoothly at times. For instance, she mentions the Fox Sisters’ and their sceances, but very briefly. Given the scandal surrounding their paranormal abilities, it could have been a great opportunity for her own voice and views on the paranormal and the impacts of this on society.

Overall, this is a fantastic story that truly left me walking the line between fact and fiction with uncertain experts and unreliable witnesses.

Back soon!

Bookish Blonde x

Leave a comment