‘Matchmaking at Port Willow’ by Kiley Dunbar

Hello my lovely readers,

I hope you’re all having a splendid weekend!

I have a great upcoming gem of a novel for you today by one of my favourite authors…

Kiley Dunbar has a very special set of skills – not like Liam Neeson in every film he makes, but just as effective! She writes a cheesy, predictable rom-com without coming across as remotely too cheesy or too predictable. Not an easy task! What I love about her writing is how subtle and skilful she is – at no point does she fall into my least favourite cheesy rom-com trap: stating the obvious or, even worse, repeating the obvious!

Matchmaking at Port Willow follows various couples and singles during their stay at a delightful craft-making hotel. They all have their troubles and some have their secrets, but Beatrice, the owner, takes it upon her meddling self to make sure they all leave in love. And it’s just stunningly warm and beautiful! Special shout out in particular to Dunbar’s description of Burns Night: it is the literary equivalent of a hot cup of cocoa on a winter’s night.

I was a wee bit surprised this book is predominantly set over winter. The cover suggests spring or summer to me, with the green-leafed trees and no sign of the snow that is repeatedly mentioned, but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the wintry story and its festive glory at all!

Enjoy!

Back soon!

Bookish Blonde x

Leave a comment