Book Review: ‘The Drift’ by C.J. Tudor

Hey there, book lovers!

With only 2 weeks to go until Christmas, I hope you are fully immersed in your festive reading, surrounded by multi-coloured lights and full of mulled wine! I’m currently getting ready to choose my annual Christmas romance novel, but how anything will fare following my most recent book, ‘The Drift’, I truly don’t know!

What is ‘The Drift’ about?

Three groups of people are stranded in a snow storm: Hannah and a group of students fnd themselves trapped on a coach after a crash during the blizzard; Meg wakes to a group of strangers stranded in a broken-down cable car, with one mysteriously dead body in the corner; while Carter and other residents of a mountain-side cabin begin to struggle with power outages affecting their security system – but what exactly are they trying to keep out? And why is no one coming to help any of them?

It quickly becomes apparent that the snow is not their only enemy. There is a dangerous virus running rampant, and those infected become The Whistlers. But is that the only danger for our three groups of survivors?

Should you read this book?

In short, absolutely! I’ll just start by saying I finished this book at 7.30am before work on a Tuesday morning, because I COULD NOT WAIT to read more. Was I late for work? Possibly… Was it worth it? Definitely!

So what did I enjoy about this book? Its characters were all uniquely interesting and flawed, and Tudor’s expert narration of each segment focusing on the three of them in turn allowed me to fully immerse myself in each of their terrifying situations. It’s not easy to convince a reader that your characters are in utter peril surrounded by a vicious snowstorm, a deadly virus and its contagious victims simultaneously, but Tudor did this with perfect skill.

What I loved most about this book, though, was the gasp-inducing plot twists. I won’t reveal too much (you know how much I hate spoilers), but you always know that a book with multiple narratives would amount to nothing if they didn’t intertwine in some way by the end. This book could be a masterclass in how to do that! Not only that, every single chapter ended on a cliff-hanger (however small) that left me fighting the one-more-chapter urge – hence the early morning finish!

Finally, its snowy setting, even if it is scarily isolating, is perfect for this time of year. Just don’t take it with you on your ski holiday unless you want a few nightmares!

Final thoughts

All in all, a brilliant survival thriller with perfectly executed, captivating twists! I’m already looking forward to reading C.J. Tudor’s next release, ‘The Gathering’.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Back soon!

Bookish Blonde x

One thought on “Book Review: ‘The Drift’ by C.J. Tudor

Leave a comment