Book Review: ‘Friends, Lovers, and the Big Terrible Thing’ by Matthew Perry

Hey there, book lovers!

Happy new year! Let’s start with the inevitable question: what are your new year’s resolutions? Do you make them at all or not bother? I tend to make a couple – usually reading and work related – but they’re always things I can control. I’m a firm believer in setting goals that I can definitely achieve if I set my mind to them and work hard; you won’t see any miraculous dress-size changes or out-of-nowhere new jobs in my resolution list. I’ll reveal mine at the end of this blog, and I’d love to see yours in the comments!

Fittingly, one of the last books I read in 2023 was Matthew Perry’s autobiography, which I found truly inspiring, so I thought what would be a better way to start 2024’s reviews than with a rave review?

Matthew Perry’s book ‘Friends, Lovers and the Big, Terrible Thing’

What is this book about?

Somewhat stating the obvious, but this book is about Matthew Perry’s life, from his youth to just a couple of years before he passed away. Throughout this honest autobiograpy, Perry opens up about how his parents’ divorce left him feeling alone and unwanted; how his need to make people laugh was both a blessing and a curse; how his extreme struggle with addiction haunted him all his life.

Some of the juicier memories he shared include his view of the infamous head-to-head interview with Peter Hitchens – a great watch if you haven’t seen it! I also found the heartbreaking story of his six-year relationship with the unnamed love of his life so compelling and so utterly real. If you’re looking for juicy gossip about the cast of Friends, you won’t necessarily get it. However, you will find out lots of background about how Friends became the unbelievable success it was, and the seemingly beautiful and genuine behind-the-scenes relationships.

Should you read this book?

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t expecting to love this book as much as I did. I listened to the audiobook, thinking it would make great background listening in the kitchen. In the words of Perry himself, could I be any more wrong?!

Matthew Perry’s life story is so beyond interesting, and so bittersweet, especially given his recent passing. Not only that, his tone and his voice shines through every word in his classic sarcastic, but warm way. The poignant references to the fact he ‘should be dead’ absolutely stunned me. However, at no point during his exploration of his addictions and the awful stress he put his body and his family through does he expect sympathy. In actual fact, he is all too aware of his own downfalls, but also painfully aware that he cannot do much about them.

At this time of year, as we quite often think about starting afresh and being the best versions of ourselves, this is a fantastic insight into a man who seemingly tried to be his best, but felt unable to jump over each hurdle, despite the best of intentions. It felt comforting to know that he did so much to help others with addiction problems and that, even though he couldn’t escape his own demons, his optimism and strength at times was inspiring.

Final thoughts

All in all, a poignant memoir with perfectly interwoven humour and darkness showing his ultimate humanity.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

As I said, I always make a couple of new year’s resolutions but this book really made me think about what I can do to better myself. So here goes. Resolution number 1 is to complete at least two professional courses to further my career following my massive career change this year. Resolution 2 is to contact one person a week who inspires me professionally and ask them for advice or support. Finally, resolution 3 is to read one non-fiction book a month – I have loads on my TBR and never get round to them!

What are your resolutions for the new year?

Back soon!

Bookish Blonde x

Leave a comment