Book Review: ‘The Women’ by Kristin Hannah

Hey there, book lovers!

Last week was our fourth – and busiest – BB Book Club! Over the weeks beforehand, we’d all read ‘The Women’ by Kristin Hannah – it was an emotional rollercoaster to say the least. We discussed everything from our varying amount of American history knowledge, to what exactly throws a book across the line into ‘cheesy’ romance. And we ate cake and drank wine, of course. As always, though, what I love about Book Club is that I reflect on my own reading experience. An idea or character that I perceived in a certain way is reflected back at me in 12 different ways, and it’s so interesting to hear everyone’s insights. In this case, it didn’t change my opinion of the book too much, but I think I was too busy emotionally reeling from this one! So let’s jump in.

What is ‘The Women’ about?

Frankie McGrath is a privileged young woman living a comfortable life with her wealthy parents and brother, until her brother goes to fight in the Vietnam War and is killed very quickly. Frankie decides she has to do something more meaningful with her life, and signs up to be a war nurse, much to her parents’ horror. She’s shipped off to Vietnam with shockingly little training and is thrown into horrific living conditions, mass casualties that she’s largely unprepared for, and heartbreaking losses. But she’s also fortunate enough to be housed with two other heroic nurses, Ethel and Barb. The three girls band together, taking on trauma after trauma, but building an unbreakable bond.

By the time Frankie reaches the end of her deployment, she has seen more darkness and experienced more loss than anyone should ever have to go through. Then, upon returning home, she is treated like a traitor by American citizens, including her parents, and receives no support as she begins to suffer the symptoms of PTSD. As further struggles hit Frankie in day-to-day life, will she ever be able to overcome what Vietnam has done to her, and will she and her fellow nurses ever be recognised for their heroic war efforts?

Should you read ‘The Women’?

That depends: do you like a bit of a cry, whilst also feeling inspired, weirdly happy and proud, and angry at times? Because this book will take you through the entire spectrum of emotions!

This book is very clearly sectioned off into war time, coming home time, and post-war time so I’ll discuss each one. War time is harrowing and dark, but with such beautiful flashes of light through Frankie’s relationships with her friends and the soldiers, that I couldn’t help but love it. Whilst the trauma was the prime focus, the bittersweet moments as the soldiers and nurses tried to make the best of their time together were incredibly heartwarming. As Frankie returned home, I initially felt her pain and confusion at the ‘welcome’ she received from everyone around her. This was so well-written in terms of research and the psychological impact the war had clearly had on people returning to normality. However, as Frankie continued to try to settle back into American life, and increasingly awful things happened to her, I did reach a point where I though “surely, nothing else can happen to this poor woman!” and I found it a bit over the top. I am sure that many women suffered horrendously after returning from this kind of role at war, but I felt it made the middle-end of the book drag a bit and feel less enjoyable.

In terms of characters, Barb – you’re my girl. Considering she was Frankie’s supporting character, she struck me as the most inspiring: tough, smart and witty, and incredibly emotionally intelligent. I loved her story more than anything else and actually wish we’d seen more of it! While Frankie was still a very interesting main character, the plot drove her more than anything and I felt I sometimes didn’t understand her actions. Having said that, that could well be the whole point, as I’m sure very few people with PTSD understood their own feelings or actions at this time, prior to it being recognised and appreciated.

A key element we discussed at Book Club was also Frankie’s romantic relationships. No spoilers here, but there are a few romances throughout Frankie’s time at war and upon returning home. Some Book Clubbers felt that they were too cheesy and made the men sound like stereotypical “I will take care of you, poor woman” heroes. Personally, I felt there were a couple of moments that teetered on the edge of cheesiness, but also that this was purposefully done. I’m sure that during the 1960s, this was often the attitude of men towards women – even those women who were capable of saving their lives! I also felt it added to Frankie’s obvious need to be loved and admired, which in some ways was her downfall. I also challenge everyone not to fall for a cheesy line when the man in uniform has battled hell on earth just for one last glimpse of the woman he’s infatuated with!

Final thoughts

All in all, an emotionally charged and inspiring novel, with harrowing war imagery and bittersweet moments that will have you reaching for the tissues. Be prepared to text your girl group, telling them how much you appreciate their love and strength!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Back soon!

Bookish Blonde x

Leave a comment